Food travels thousands of miles from farmers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for our environment and economy if people consumed locally produced foods. To what extent do the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to modernisation and globalisation, people in different countries are able to enjoy varieties of foods in all seasons. It is better to consider the environmental and regional economic development. Even though, it is better to consume locally produced foodstuff, but also enjoyable to have other regional products. Foods travel from local farmers to ultimate consumers and have to go through various stages to be sold in national or international markets. These stages may involve bulk-buying, processing, storing and packaging etc. It not only leads to increase in price of the thos, but also reduces its nutritional value. It has an adverse impact on our environment too. In order to avoid such problems, consumers can directly buy fresh and tasty foods from the local producers at reasonable prices.Consuming locally produced foods also helps in controlling over-production and wastage of natural resources as there is no need to buy the food in bulk in the future storage. In addition, we can indirectly contribute to the growth of small and medium sized enterprises in every region. This will further boost the economic development of a country. On the other hand, due to geographical and climatic reasons, all types of foods cannot be produced at one place. If we only buy goods from local farmers, we will not be able to enjoy varieties of foods throughout the year. Therefore, transporting food is the most viable option to cater to the needs of different regions. In conclusion, some food, travel long distances to shop, that may cause a large portion to get waste and that is economically hazardous, therefore getting used to local edible products are much beneficial. Thus, considering the climate and geographical facts, it is, viable to transport it from other farmers for enjoying a variety of foods throughout the year at a reasonable price, we have to buy foods from other