The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The popularity of ready-made foods has helped individuals to keep up with the pace of modern lifestyle. In this 21st century, most people do two or three jobs involving a lot of man hours with little break time to eat food. To meet up with this modern life work demand, fast food is preferred to the stress of making home-made foods. This creates more time for other things and gives ample time that could be used for other things like leisure. However, maintaining this trend can be costly and over time could expose one to unhealthy eating habit. In my opinion, I think the disadvantages of fast foods outweighs the convenience it gives to its consumers. First, sustaining convenience food lifestyle could be expensive. Most people spend twice the amount used to prepare a home-made food that would last for a week in a couple of days. This cost could vary based on the content of the package. A Prepacked rice, protein, salad and a bottle of water would cost much more than a Prepacked rice only. Secondly, ready-made foods can be a risk factor to obesity and cardiac diseases. A lot of fast food is made up of carbohydrate, fats and oil. This makes most convenience diets unbalanced, sometimes insatiable and may be consumed in large quantities. For individuals with a sedentary lifestyle, the impact on health will be more and could lead to cardiac arrest and death. Finally, I think the negative consequences of fast foods on human health are far more detrimental to be overlooked. Therefore, I strongly recommend the practice of convenience dieting should be moderated or completely avoided.