The world's natural resources are being consumed at an ever-increasing rate. What are the dangers of this situation? What should we do

It is true that there is a growing consumption of natural resources on a global scale. Although there will be some glaring negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. As the raw materials are overused indiscriminately, several related problems can be anticipated. The main issue is that the non-renewable resources, existing in nature in a limited way because their regeneration involves the passage of many years, will obviously become exhausted in the near future. This can pose a threat to the economy of developing countries. When mineral resources, such as oil, natural gas and coal, take an alarming turn with over exploitation, necessitating prices of related commodities to be spared, customers have to pay more for gasoline and electric bills. In other words, this issue, possibly led to a fuel war between countries which are depending on mineral wealth because their national economies relied to raw materials export. Another consequence is a greater level of environmental contamination. In recent years, forest fires have increased rapidly due to oil and coal mining, which require a considerable amount of forest land. To avoid such scenario, governments could take several actions. Firstly, the simple solutions would be to organize green campaigns to raise public awareness about saving energy. For example, we could consume less energy by improving and modernizing energy infrastructure such as smart grid solutions and smart cities. The second remedy is that alternative sources of energy, such as solar power, wind power and tidal power, should be developed to reduce our dependence on fossil fuel. In conclusion, the increase in the world’s demand for natural resources has engendered a number of problems to society. However, this can be handled by adopting above mentioned suggestions.