Social media marketing can influence what consumers buy. Do you agree or disagree? To what extent do you agree?

It is irrefutable to say that social media are playing an important role today; it has not only made communication easier, but also faster and more reliable. Social media marketing can be defined as the use of social media to communicate and increase brand value. Some people are of the opinion that social media marketing influences what consumers buy, however, there are a few who would argue otherwise. This essay gingerly delineates both the viewpoints in the following paragraphs. A recent study shows that 50% of the population have a social media presence, this makes it easy for brands to target a large chunk of population via various networking sites. Moreover, algorithms are used to display recurring advertisements based on the user's recent search history; this makes online marketing more effective. To substantiate further, a recent study proved that 35% of youngsters in the age group of 19 to 28 years were more likely to buy a product when an advertisement is displayed multiple times on different platforms. On the other hand, older people may not be well acquainted with the internet; some may even be averse to social networking sites. Thus, the target population of marketing online usually excludes the older age group. To back my point further, a study shows that 40% of them prefer shopping in brick and motor shops rather than doing the same online. Furthermore, though the internet has become accessible worldwide, there are still a few places where accessibility is limited; social media marketing would be impractical in such situations. In a nutshell, social media marketing undeniably influences what consumers buy, companies all around the world are monetizing on this and have successfully increased their brand reach and value. However, the target population may not entirely include people above the age of 50 years.