Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recruiters often request for the applicants personal details. While certain people are of the opinion that the information is necessary in evaluating the candidate, while others do not. This passage will discuss both the views and provide a basis as to why this information is relevant. Firstly, every employment application would require details about the person's education, experience and skill set. In addition, some employers might request for some personal details which would help them in deciding the candidate suitability for the role. For example, some jobs might require extensive travelling, and for a person who travels to new places during his leisure time can be considered suitable for the role. Further, certain married people with family and kids might not be interested in moving to a different location for work if required. By requesting certain basis personal information will help the employers to shortlist or narrow down the number of candidates who applied for a particular job. Do the personal details really matter? There are certain types of roles which mainly focus on the employee leadership skills and their ability to handle critical situations. For example, where a company is looking to hire a CEO or a CFO which is a management role, the focus will be mainly on the individual's ability to handle the situation and any relevant experience where they were able to demonstrate the skill set rather than on the personal details. To conclude, it is important to note that personal details might nor be relevant for all types of employments. Accordingly employers should mainly focus on the role being offered and consider requesting the information only if they believe it would be beneficial in evaluating the candidate's suitability for the job.