27. Many people believe that majority of children in western countries are being obese. Is it true? Agree or disagree. Give reasons and examples.

Obesity has become one of health issues around the world due to the civilization and industrialization. Many people opine that it is not only affects adults, but also the youth in developing nations. I totally agree their view and the essay will discuss this view with examples. To begin with, researches indicate that more children are overweight or obese in the contemporary world and this trend will continue to be upward. This may be resulted from unhealthy eating habits, easy assess to fast foods, extremely busy lifestyles, and so on. For example, fast food, such as pizza, hamburgers, deep fired chicken, and so on, is not only children's favourite choice but also parents' because it is delicious for children and convenient and cheap for parents. However, too much high-calorie fast food will cause consumers to become obese. In addition, food was no longer as safe as those in the past. For instance, genetically modified fruits and poultries fed with steroid-contained food may also contribute the obesity of children. In addition, lack of exercises and unhealthy lifestyle also lead to obese children as well. Novel digital gadgets keep children occupied on their interest in playing video games, watching TV, surfing online, and so on. The long-screen time will reduce their outdoor activities and contribute to a sedentary lifestyle which will cause children obese. For example, researches indicate that children who spent more than two hours on screen daily will develop obesity. Moreover, mental health issues, such as depression or anxiety also dominate the youth. Medications for treating these diseases also cause obesity as well.  In conclusion, obesity has been treated as one of the chronic diseases worldwide. The high percentage of children are obese due to the above reasons. Obesity even worsens children's confidence and competency; therefore, parents and educators should guide children exercise and reduce the screen time in order to protect our future generation.