Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums of different kinds, exhibiting objects of historical, cultural and scientific values have always enjoyed great significance in the society. However, most of these museums, in recent years, do not provide free access to the visitors. Although this change might lead to a negative consequence, such as a decline in the number of visitors, it definitely offers more benefits to the museum and the society. In my opinion, it is far better to charge an entry fee than allowing anyone and everyone inside for free. Firstly, these institutions do not have any source of revenue other than the funds received from the government’s budget. Thus, the greatest advantage of this development is that the admission charges can actually generate and augment their income, which in turn can be used to pay the salary of the employees working there and also for the renovation and conservation of its infrastructure. A good illustration of this is the Madame Tussauds Museum in London. Despite the ticket prices being exorbitantly high, it has been drawing tourists because of its quality and innovation. Furthermore, the visits of beggars and lovers, who come here for personal objectives and not to understand the real importance of museums will be hindered, thus providing a hassle-free entry to others who actually want to gain knowledge. However, there are a few challenges which the museum and the public might have to face owing to the entry fee. Firstly, every citizen has the right to receive access to a place which is culturally and historically important for them; hence, in this sense, the introduction of the admission fee violates their right to knowledge and information. To illustrate, the admission fee may stand in the way of poor/financially weak people who are genuinely interested in gathering information. In conclusion, charging an entry fee may certainly reduce the number of people visiting the museum; however, it generates revenue which can be used for the proper maintenance of the place. Over time, this may actually increase the number of visitors; hence, in my opinion, the advantages of collecting a fee from the visitors outweigh the disadvantages.