Some people argue that a growing number of young people spend too much time in watching television. Why does this phenomenon happen? And what kind of activities should be encouraged to them?

T.V. Has become a source of entertainment. Some individuals believe that youngsters are spending most of their time to watch television.In this essay, I shall delve into the reasons for this happening and also suggest some of the activities which they should be motivated to do. To set the wheels in motion, there are numerous factors responsible for this.One of the main reasons is that parents consider television as a babysitter.Nowadays, both parents are working, therefore, to complete household work, they switch on the television and put their children in front of it. Hence, children become habitual of it. In addition, in todays era, people prefer a nuclear family as compare to joint family, thus, a child does not find any company to play and starts watching television because of no choice left. Moreover, spending too much time in sitting and watching television can also affect the health of an individual which results in occurrence of various health related problems like obesity, fatigue etc. There could be a number of activities towards which we can encourage children.Parents and teachers should take the onus of this and motivate children to take part in healthy activities.In schools, sports lecture should be there, so that children can learn the importance of games.Parents should act as a role model for their children by staying away from TV and regular picnics should be plan with children, so that they will more involve in outdoor activities. In conclusion, I would like to say that it is the prime responsibility of the parents to divert the mind of their children and indulge them in productive activities so that they do not watch T.V. For whole day.