For a long time, art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays people’s values have changed, and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than arts. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to draw people’s attention to art?

The arts are fundamental to our humanity. They elevate us and inspire us to engage in our creative side, build communities, and foster freedom of expression. The arts have a long history and have been an integral part of all cultures throughout the globe. Over the years, however, there was a massive shift that took place with the advent of science and technology and with that, the arts, somehow lost its charm and relevance. Given the accelerating pace of modernisation, will the arts, possibly diminish from our society? Through this essay, I intend to delve deeper into the reasons behind this change and will present possible suggestions to attract people to indulge in the arts again. To begin with, the primary reason for this could be capitalism that we have seen engender over the years. It is inevitably the age of ‘survival of the fittest’ and we are being conditioned to pursue science and business, because that is where, we find more economic stability. There are more jobs in these sectors and people prefer pursuing this security over their passions. Furthermore, scientists, doctors, and professionals in the same field are seen with much more reverence than artists. These professions are more respected and valued and found to be more sustainable in the long run, as opposed to art which is known to be more fluid in its overall stand in our society. People should be educated about the importance of art, starting from schools and universities. For instance, in Rome, people from all walks of life are encouraged to pursue the arts by hosting free events in the museum. This not only helps keep a culture alive, it also imparts knowledge among the society. In addition to this, local communities could start art contests for children and adults to foster engagement in the arts and at the same time inculcating the values which we might have lost with time. To conclude, science and technology are considered more viable options than art, but by introducing some ideas, we could collectively keep our interests and curiosity in the arts alive.