Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The perspectives on what education brings vary widely. Some people think of chances to get decent jobs as the main benefit, whereas others are convinced that education is not only beneficial to individuals but also to society. As far as I am concerned, I am strongly in favor of the latter, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. An array of factors may lead to why academic institutions help people get better jobs. First of all, students acquire advanced knowledge related to their future careers, providing them with a solid foundation prior to entering the workplace. For example, before I received an offer from Google, the courses, such as algorithm and data analysis, at our school truly enhanced my competitiveness since I had accumulated experiences in similar projects during my senior year. Additionally, universities are typically equipped with a career service team, giving students useful feedback and suggestions. To be more specific, individuals can ask for optimizing their resume and undergoing mock interviews to maximize the probability of receive a job. On the other hand, in my opinion, university education also has positive effects on society. To begin with, general courses usually include moral education, so students tend to behave well rather than commit crimes in the future. According to a study conducted by National Taiwan University, after the Taiwanese government applied moral lessons to universities, the crime rate of people with university degrees decreased considerably from 15% to 2% over a decade. Furthermore, companies will be willing to allocate more capital to the Department of Research and Development, as education enables them to hire enough productive workers. As a result, creative innovation might be easier to come true. For instance, Steve Jobs invented the first iPhone in history with the prevalence of university education throughout the world, which allowed him to expand his research team and eventually make the products that have brought convenience to the whole society. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, the merits of education from a university include both individuals and society because it lowers the crime rate and leads to significant revolution.