The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that the only way to decrease the present day traffic is by making people not to commute out for studying, shopping or work place. This essay agrees with that statement because this could possibly bring down the traffic issues and also people can work and shop in the comfort of home. To begin with, the cities are now a 'one big jam' due to heavy traffic and it's hard to commute to work place or go shopping even for small products such as groceries. Mornings are becoming a pain in the neck due to accumulation of vehicles on the roads, delays to office are more often due to increased time while commuting to work, not to mention about the signals that are more in number because of uncontrollable traffic. For example, in the normal days, it's hard to reach the destinations because of congestion on roads with cars and bikes. But, on weekends when people tend to stay at home and roads are clear without any disturbances it is easy to travel and also reach early to the desired locations. In addition to this, if citizens would decide to shop online by not travelling out and also work from home with the use of internet and surpass the hurdles of going through traffic this would yield better results in bringing down the traffic more effectively. That said, if half of the population decides to stay at home and do the works as usual with the technology this can directly impact the traffic rate to none or less than the usual amount. Also, if tutors and institutions would broadcast classes children could learn them efficiently and interactively as they can show more interest in the new way of learning. For instance, Russia has implemented the no commute policy at the busiest cities that make people stick to their homes and do the regular works with the use of mobiles and computers which reduced almost 50% of traffic. This shows the effect of travelling to places with personal vehicles which is why it is a great idea to do all these from home. In conclusion, I completely agree that more and more options of working, shopping and learning through online should be encouraged, going everyday out using a car or bike would definitely impact the traffic jams and working at the comfort of our home and facilities is a great idea.