Some people think that illegal Internet downloads is having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that it has little or no impact on artists.Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The growth of the Internet has also seen the growth of piracy. However, although some people believe that this is having a damaging effect on the record industry, I won’t believe that it does. On the one hand, it could be argued that illegal downloads steal money directly from the pockets of singers and performers. After they have created a CD, artists expect to receive money from their product, and the most obvious way for them to do this is through record sales. Furthermore, it could be thought that companies that have invested in these artists also lose money this way. Another issue is recognizing, as illegal downloads are not counted in the official music charts and, therefore, won’t help earn an artist a number one spot. However, there are a number of reasons why I feel that downloading music for free is not as bad as it first appears. Firstly, record companies have overpriced content, because they often charge the same price to download audio files as to buy a real CD. I believe illegal piracy will simply bring the price of audio files down to a level that is closer to their real worth, and then die out. More importantly, the number one goal for young singers who try to enter the market is to gain recognition. Internet downloads only help to spread their popularity, and recent research has shown that the money lost in record sales due to Internet piracy is more than made up for in concert ticket sales. In conclusion, although illegal downloads, prevent young artists from having a number one chart position, they give them more airplay time and the opportunity to promote their fame to a wider audience. I therefore believe that, on balance, online piracy does more to promote the success of young stars than detract from it.