in a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between two cities. other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding government spending on transportation systems. A group of individuals believe that it is necessary to spend large amounts of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between two cities. However, others argue/claim that the money should be used to improve existing public transport. Therefore, ahead of my opinion, both the views will be discussed further. Examining the former opinion, the primary argument the supporters would put forward is that fast railway systems can save a significant amount of travelling time. This is because high-speed trains allow passengers to travel quickly and comfortably between cities, which can improve business activities and tourism. In addition, they also believe that modern railway lines can reduce road traffic and pollution. The reason is that more people may choose trains instead of private cars or buses for long-distance travel. Furthermore, fast train networks are considered a symbol of national development and technological progress in many countries. On the contrary, those in favour of the latter opinion have their own arguments. To begin with, they claim that improving existing public transport is more beneficial for ordinary citizens. Millions of people use buses, local trains and metro services every day, so better facilities can improve their daily lives. Moreover, spending huge amounts of money on high-speed railways may not be affordable for developing countries. Governments may face financial pressure while many other important sectors such as healthcare and education also require investment. For instance, repairing roads, increasing the number of buses and improving metro systems can benefit a larger population at a lower cost. To conclude and offer my position, there are convincing arguments both for and against spending money on new railway lines. However, I certainly favour the latter opinion because improving existing public transport is more practical, economical and beneficial for the majority of people.