Psychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses, nevertheless they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern world, more than one-tenth of the global population suffers from some sort of psychological issues and yet mental illnesses gets far less priority that it actually deserves. Worse, minor psychological issues are mostly ignored by the society. There is no denying that this ignorance can lead to the negative outcomes in the future. To begin with, the number of general hospitals that treat patients with bodily diseases is increasing. This is the evidence of social ignorance of psychological illnesses. To illustrate, only a few numbers of public health care facilities are devoted to treating mental diseases. Furthermore, individuals are not willing to understand the situation of these people. That is to say, the members of societies are keen to ignore their problems. For example, they often prohibit their children to meet and to visit these people. On the other hand, it is true that international, governmental and private organizations have created some facilities for these people. In this regard, there is an opinion that the position can be improved in the near future. A good illustration of this is the WHO. This organization introduced a new methodology for psychological disabled individuals. Moreover, the mass media began to cover this issue. Consequently, they can explain the arduous situation of psychological disabled people. For instance, the marvel studio’s movie about Joker, who is mentally disabled person, gain a popularity among the youngsters. To conclude, although many people are concerned about the position of such kinds of people, the authorities and private organizations started to help them. In addition, mass media coverage can be beneficial for these people.