To be labelled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpieces ’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Do you agree or disagree?

Art, painting and sculpture, for instance, makes a boring place a more interesting one. Moreover, numerous unusual outputs are being called as “Work of Art.” However, the standards of selecting such have decreased compared to the previous time period, as a typical creation can now be labelled as “masterpiece,” while genuine outputs worth not even an attention. My conviction disproves with the aforementioned concept and it will be explained in this essay why. In the past, people are still exploring the creative world. Their curiosity made them transform themselves into artists. Furthermore, this field was brand new to everyone, in which the highly inclined individuals aspired to be famous and to receive due recognition. No doubt, the past generations deliberately exercised a part of their brain responsible for creativity resulting of unique results. The “Monalisa” painting by Leonardo De Carpio, for instance. The artist spent a significant period to finish his masterpiece. Substantially, the degree interest and new recreational habits made artists in the ancient times excelled and become remarkable. On the contrary, while the modern professionals in this field are equally talented to the past, they are being underestimated. It happens because of the following: one, the standard of humankind is being altered as time goes; lastly, a portion of the population demands for the impossible. During the previous centuries, portrait, abstract and the like were extremely rare. As a result, people were easier to please. However, nowadays, it just seems that the audience have seen a variety of artworks making their judgment horizons wider. A portrait today are not greatly appreciated as they used to, because it is now considered as “usual.” Hence, arguing that it is nothing fascinating anymore, although such can still be a “masterpiece.” It could be the story behind the works that makes it stand out. Additionally, it is untrue that real works are left unrecognized, they are all worth an attention, but sometimes it varies on the number of audience and popularity. Undeniably, all creative outputs are similarly incredible. In conclusion, anything that is a by-product of an artistic inclination is considered a gem. After all, it is not only the illustration or the physical outcomes that make it extraordinary, but it is as well the unseen story behind it makes it unique from others.