Many people say that applying heavy taxes to industries will prevent industrial pollution. Others believe that there are other effective solutions to curb the industrial pollution. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Undoubtedly, environmental contamination is considered to be one of the most serious problems of the 21st century. Since manufacturing is responsible for a large proportion of pollution, there is an opinion that the solution to the problem is imposing aggressive taxes on industries. However, other people assume there are alternative ways to tackle the issue. This essay will discuss both positions and provide my point of view. On the one hand, with higher taxes it will not be as profitable as before for manufacturers to manage their business. In order to avoid running at a loss, they might exercise several possible options. First, plants will be bound to adjust to the system and modernize production in order to escape paying huge sums of money. Second, they might start producing less, which will also decrease the amount of harmful emissions in the air, rivers and soil. On the other hand, there may be more effective ways to control industrial pollution. One option could be obliging plants to modernize the facilities and equipment so as to become environmentally-friendly. This approach would also imply thorough monitoring of manufacturers as well as applying considerable fines for not obeying the law. Another alternative could be forcing industries to invest in environmental projects and actively cooperate with scientists. This can give rise to scientific research, along with technological innovations. In conclusion, there can be various ways to address the problem of pollution, with tax increase being one of them. Personally, I do not believe the application of heavy taxes can lead to combating the problem of pollution. Not only will it be less effective than other solutions, but it can be easily circumvented by profitable corporations with a sustainable income. Some effective solutions might be introducing heavy fines or criminal liability.