Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For a long time, museums have played a major role in preserving materials of historical importance. Some people hold the view that it should only exhibit objects, which belong to its country instead of others. Personally, I fairly disagree with this idea for a number of reasons. On the one hand, people believe local artefacts should be given priority for some particular purposes. The first one is local museum should be a place which honours and conveys historical values of the land where it is located. The artefacts it conversed could represent an ancient period of regional history, which could increase patriotism in the locals’ mind. Moreover, it is essential for indigenous people to have an insight into their own history and heritage before learning the others. In addition to this, for travellers, they go to the museum in order to have a glimpse of the cultures, traditions and history of the nation it belongs. For instance, it would be a disappointment if they go to Vietnam, but see more works from abroad than local antiques. On the other hand, although some people are against this idea, I am of the view that displaying international works of art has one main merit. It is that it helps diversify the content of the museums and galleries. This would give residents and visitors a chance to enrich their understanding about artworks, and therefore, could broaden their horizon of the world from historical and cultural aspects. In conclusion, my view is that the ultimate goal of museums and galleries is to spread knowledge of all kinds, nevertheless museums and art galleries should make masterpieces of their own country more dominant than the works of the other parts of the world.