More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Transportation has become a basic human need like food, shelter, and accommodation. With the development of humanity, transportation has grown considerably too. Every mode of travelling is available at people's disposal, but, their inclination is more towards private cars. The luxuries offered by cars are enough to allure travellers, however, its catastrophic outcomes should not be neglected at any cost. To begin with the causes, the root of this problem is convenience. Since travelling is quite tiring, therefore people choose private cars over any other mode for making their journeys pleasant and comfortable. Furthermore, the dilapidated condition and services of public transport are aggravating the situation. As public transport is unable to provide on-time service assurance because of the breaking down of public vehicles, so people do not have any other choice rather than relying on cars. The impressions of over-dependence on cars are horrifying. The main effects of the soaring number of cars are traffic gridlock and road casualties. As the current road infrastructure is unable to handle the on-road vehicles efficiently, thus people are wasting their valuable time in traffic jams, which leads drivers to drive recklessly and cause accidents. Apart from it, poor air quality is another outcome of this phenomenon. Excessive utilization of cars not only deteriorate air quality index, but also make people suffer from several cardiovascular afflictions and showing them grave earlier than expected. Some corrective measures can help humanity in cleaning the mess created by the over-exploitation of cars. A complete makeover of public transport is the need of the hour, which have to include round the clock services and safety of passengers. Then only a substantial reduction can be brought in the management of cars. Another viable solution is to opt for telecommuting so that the urge to travel gets diminished. To conclude, the luxuries offered by cars are enough to allure travellers, however, its catastrophic outcomes should not be neglected at any cost. Both society and authority have to come up with effective tactics to alleviate the drastic effects of it.