Road transport is taking over rail services.Discuss the positive and negative effects of this development.Is this situation true for your country?

Increasing popularity of road transport has become a controversial issue in the modern world.People have shown their concern over its increasing threat throughout the world, and my country is no exception. Also, it has given birth to the question whether it has an adverse effect on the rail services or not? This essay will take into consideration both positive and negative effects of such development. On the positive side, First of all, it is considered as the most easily accessible mode of transportation in today's contemporary world. In other words, a huge network of roads is responsible for the movement of individuals and transportations of goods from one part of the country to another in a much convenient manner. Furthermore, it provides door-to-door service.Let us consider huge trucks which are supplying and carrying different commodities of daily needs to the areas where these are present in a limited amount.A particular good example of this is the supply of grains, such as wheat, rice, from states like Haryana and Punjab where these are abundantly available. Also, various bus services are connecting people from remote areas to the urban areas where there are no rail networks. This way, such type of transportation facility is proving helpful in making life easier. In my country, India tremendous amount of traffic is shifting towards roads from the rail. On the downside, it is not suitable for travelling for long distances. Although I certainly agree that by using private vehicles, particularly cars anyone can make their journey smooth, it is not possible for the poor sections of the society who cannot afford to buy private vehicles. Thus they are not left with any options rather than railways. Moreover, excessive vehicles on the roads are creating a havoc in the life of common people.Since it is promoting traffic on roads and eventually the quality of air is also declining at its worse rate. To conclude, despite having certain disadvantages, road transport has definitely an edge over the other. That is why it is becoming popular.