Some universities now offer their course on the internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, with the augmentation of technology, educational institutes have started offering courses over the web so that learners can study online. I believe this has a favourable impact, as it has enormous benefits in the form of time saving and cost effective method. The most prominent reason is that one can save his valuable time by studying over the internet. If, a learner chooses the conventional method of learning, he can attend the class at any given time in a day, according to his convenience; means he can utilize the rest of the time to do his daily chores. Studying online is also very beneficial for the working persons, as they can continue their study along with their respective jobs. For an instance, an eminent personality of cricket Anil Kumble went on to complete his Doctorate through internet from Oxford University, London, which would not have been possible with his profession, had there been no such facility of web learning. Moreover, learning over the web is much more cost-effective as compared to the traditional method of classes. As, this method of learning includes no cost of commuting, hostel fares, books and so forth. Enrolling for the online courses also provides significant discount and offers to the economically weaker students and brilliant minds. Apart from this, learners can choose from a wide range of courses from free websites as well; requiring no fees of enrolment. To exemplify, there are numerous websites, namely Codecademy, Coursera, Khan Academy and many more, which provides free online courses in different fields such as web designing, cooking, dancing etcetera. To recapitulate, online courses might have any deficiencies; however, technological advancement of web courses offers a lot to the students as they can save their precious time and money by enrolling in these education programs.