In the modern world, the image (photograph or film) is becoming a more powerful way of communicating than the written word. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, images in the form of photographs, pictures and movies are used everywhere as a means of communicating to the public. I certainly agree that, these images have become a very powerful means of communication and it is used in many different sectors to inform, influence and entertain people. The media, for instance, used images to give detailed information and immediate impact to their news coverage. Similarly, advertising industries constantly using images to advertise, inform and persuade people about a particular product to become ubiquitous for their business and marketing purpose. The powerful attraction of images is also an evident in the entertainment industry. Moreover, in mobile phones, people are using images to send messages as a part of regular personal communication. However, while it is evident that images have become powerful means of communicating with the public, that it is not to say that, it has become more powerful than either the written or spoken commentaries. Images can be interpreted in many different ways and because of that it can be rarely used alone. Captions, headlines or written explanations or spoken commentaries are always almost accompanied by the images whether they are used in advertising or media. Used alone, images can be notoriously misleading and is less effective as a result. In conclusion, I only partly agree with the given statement. While it is evident that the images can send a very powerful message, they can be really effective when used together with the written or spoken words.