Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A number of languages have gone extinct over the last few decades. Although many individuals are of the opinion that it is critical to preserve each and every language, I believe that having only a few common languages will make our lives easier. Each language is unique to a culture and learning it is a great way to understand that culture. Also, languages create a sense of unity and belongings among people. For instance, whenever two individuals from the same country meet in a foreign place, they are excited to communicate in their native language. Obviously, language helps the bonding between people. On the other hand, in this age of globalization, it is highly beneficial to speak a common language in order to avoid confusion and facilitate effective communication. Using a link language like English has helped nations to come closer and increased trade and commerce among them. If we had not chosen a single language to communicate globally, even the advent of technology could not have helped us to achieve the kind of progress we have achieved now. Much like work experience, knowing a widely used language helps the career prospects of individuals. For example, nowadays, English is the medium of instruction in a number of schools all over the world. Even in countries where English is not the first or second language, there are English medium schools because people have realized that this language is the key to professional success. In conclusion, although it is important to save the languages from dying, it is not hard to see that a common language is in everyone’s interest. It boosts trade and commerce between countries and enhances the career prospects of individuals. Hence, in my opinion, the extinction of not so popular local languages is not a major cause for concern.