Mumbai is the most lively city and becoming expensive to live in but still people want to live in this city. What are the advantages and disadvantages of living in Mumbai? What can be done to reduce the population in the city.

Mumbai is the city of dreams. People in Mumbai live a busy life. There are many businesses in this city. Many companies have their corporate office as the city has skilled labour. A majority of people speak many languages. People from different countries and states have migrated to this beautiful city. This has lead to many merits as well as demerits. Firstly, Many people relocates to Mumbai in search of employment. There are many large Multi National Companies who have their corporate offices in this city. Working for these companies is like a dream come true for some. In addition, The compensation offered is competitive as the cost of living is high. People do not mind spending their income as there are numerous activities to experience. As a result, there is overcrowding in the city which leads to many hazards in the city. People in the city live a life of hardships. There is an imbalance in the number of job vacancies available compared to the people searching for work. Due to which, there has been an increase in the number of crime rates. As per the Times Network newspaper, the unemployment rate in 2016 was 6%, which has increased to 9% in 2019. Unemployment is the main source of crime in the city. Moreover, living in the city with such a high risk is a matter of concern. Overcrowding in the city is increasing every year. These matters have been addressed by the Chief Minister of Maharashtra who suggested that employment needs to improve. There will be an increase in the number of jobs which can help the residence and reduce the crime rates in the city. In conclusion, Mumbai is surely the most amazing city to live in but, there are pros and cons to it. Living in such an expensive city is not easy and facing crime related issues on a daily basis makes life miserable. The government raising a concern for this subject should help the city improve its status in the future.