Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a prevalent pattern to ask job seekers some personal questions such as their marital status and nationalities during an interview. Despite the supporters of this implementation, I believe that it is usually irrelevant and mostly unfair for many candidates. On the one hand, some personal information might be useful to gauge. For instance, hobbies can be good for soft skill assessment which can play a key role in recruiting. These soft skills let recruiters foresee the potential of prospective employees. As an example, people who like playing in team sports such as volleyball mostly tend to work as a team, and these people can boost their team’s performance. On the other hand, most of the personal data, such as candidates’ age, gender, and ethnicity are not related to task descriptions. This type of data mostly generates biases of people who are seeking for a place, and this information results in unfair selections. There are many concrete evidence of that kind of selections generate a disadvantage on some groups like women and immigrants. The University of Toronto, which demonstrated that personal detail is real obstructions for job seekers, and especially, candidates’ nationalities and genders play a key role in the hiring process. The study illustrated that candidates who are male and have a Caucasian name have more chances to be hired. In conclusion, the drawbacks that arise from enquiring personal report overweight its benefits. In my opinion, employers should focus on solid outcomes like education experience in lieu of personal info.