In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. what are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

There is no doubt that the traffic congestion is a common issue around the globe. While few towns and cities face traffic issues, which can be solved by taking necessary steps. In this essay I will explore some of the problems associated with traffic and propose some solutions. One of the pressing problems of heavy traffic is due to over usage of vehicles. This is because most people travel in their private transport, which increases the vehicles on the roads. For example, many people travel in their own vehicle for work even if public transport is available, this leads to the packed roads during rush hours. It can be solved, if government provides cheaper public transport system, so that people are attracted towards such scheme in order to save their money. As a result, public transports are opted over private vehicles which will curtail the traffic problem. Another root cause of this problem is narrow roads. This is one of the reasons why traffic jams, which creates chaos among the public. For instance, if roads are not wide enough, it would affect the traffic flow badly, which happens mostly in areas with poor infrastructure, and people suffer a lot while waiting in the jams. Unless the government takes the initiative for the expansion of roads, the roads will be frequently have traffic problems, even if people started travelling on public transports. Therefore, it is highly imperative to build better roads. In conclusion, Although modern cities face a variety of problems due to traffic, these problems are not insurmountable. In my view, it is the government's responsibility to tackle these issues, and they should begin by considering some of the solutions proposed above.