What are the key problems facing the world’s cities in the 21st century and what can be done about them?

Over the last two hundred years, the human population has increased from 500 thousand to 7 billion people. At the beginning of the 20th century, half of all humankind lived in the countryside, but, nowadays, the proportion has changed dramatically, and 90% of humans live in towns and cities. From my point of view, the tendency for the accumulation of people in big cities will continue, and of course, with steadily growing numbers of dwellers, there are a lot of problems which occur in modern urban areas. Megapolises in many different countries have an issue with overcrowding. There are just too many inhabitants for one square foot of area, and it causes many problems: transportation jams, lack of natural resources, colossal pollution, mental stress, etc. However, pollution questions not only exist in big cities but in small towns too, because their population is also growing. There is no ultimate solution that can fix all the difficulties of continually growing cities. Problems of modern cities are severe, and for resolving them, humankind should use a complex solution. First of all, we need to start garbage separation and recycling if it is not implemented yet. Secondly, a projecting of new areas for a living should be made with consideration of all environmental issues which can occur in the future. We need to thoroughly plan the transportation system, the location of schools, clinics, and other social service buildings. And last but not least, we should implement new technology in all aspects of modern urban life, like advanced transit services, techniques to reduce electricity consumption, waste-water recycling, etc. In conclusion, I want to say that the urban population will continue to grow - it is a natural part of humankind's development. Nevertheless, it only depends on us to make our city-life better.