Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Other believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, whether students acquire further fields apart from their core major is a matter of debate. Personally, I am convinced that achieving more knowledge in various fields is of the essence. Some believe that learning additional majors is highly essential for university students. To begin with, gaining further information about different subjects can significantly broaden student’s minds. This not only paves the way for learning their main major but also extends their horizon in personal and occupational spheres of life. Because there is a great chance that these knowledges are not all parallel, but they may do partly overlap. Moreover, being aware of different fields in addition to a core major brings about higher job opportunities for such students. For example, if a student had been studying Spanish and French during his university course, he would have encountered more job opportunities right after graduation. On the other hand, some argue that students have to only focus on the main major in the university. They claim that studying different subjects would distract students from their core subjects. This is because they lose track of time on learning other things rather than their own lessons. That is to say, the more they pursue other fields, the less they concentrate on their main assignments. For instance, they may fail their exams due to squandering their precious time on side items. However, time management can considerably help them overcome this issue. By way of conclusion, according to the aforementioned ideas, I accept that the advantages of learning additional majors outbalance the drawbacks. Therefore, time management is one of the chief factors that bring this potential for students to work on a couple of subjects simultaneously without compromising their concentration.