Some people claim that goverments should be responsible for taking care of the essential needs of the elderly, while others argue that it should be the elderly that should do so. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people suggest that governments have the duty to help the elderly, whereas others argue that older people should do it themselves. In my opinion, the state should be responsible for this task, regardless of being a pensioner. On the one hand, all citizens pay a lot of money as taxes to their own government, whether directly or indirectly. For example, some of them pay a higher income tax because they earn more money, but in fact all products and services are already taxed. Whether we work or not, we contribute to the financial system of our country. Because of this, we all deserve to be cared in old age. Some may be paid a bigger pension because of their former contributions, but at least the essential needs of the rest should be met by the state. On the other hand, the average lifespan of human beings is growing at an increasingly fast rate. Advances in health care and nutrition allow us to live much longer. But, this poses a threat to the government budget. For instance, in the past, the proportion of pensioners and the elderly made up a tiny part of the population even in developed nations. But, today, especially in rich European countries, they make up more than 30% of the total. It seems that the percentage of the working members will be lower than the rest. Such a system is not sustainable in the long run. So, in the future, all the elderly may have to take care of themselves.</p> In my opinion, governments should have the responsibility to look after the elderly. If taxpayers will be ignored when they need help the most, then there is no point in contributing to the state budget. It is illogical and unfair to support a system that will eventually ditch you. Yet, I also think that everybody should save some money for the future. In a few decades, it will not be possible for all governments to provide a decent pension. In conclusion, not all people agree about the role of governments in helping the elderly. But, I believe that both parties play a crucial role in this issue.