Some people think that sports contribute to peace building internationally. Do you agree or disagree?

Today's world is reeling under the effects of hate crimes and cross-country terrorized. It is often believed that events such as intercontinental sports meet will help to propagate the message of peace and brotherhood in the world. I completely agree with this view and the essay will discuss my arguments in the upcoming paragraphs. Any sport, if played with the right enthusiasm, has several advantages for the society. Firstly, it helps to instill the vigour of nationalism in each human being. Both the players and spectators get emotionally stirred by a feeling of pride in one's own country. Playing of the respective national anthems before any intercontinental sporting event is an example to prove this point. Secondly, we cannot refute the fact that it gives immense joy when the spirit of the game overcomes the petty barriers of countries and cultures because national teams often have players from different ethnicities and backgrounds. It helps to spread the message of oneness and unity in diversity. Furthermore, international sports meet help to ease tension between warring countries as sports often serves as a binding factor between them. To illustrate, passion for a cricket is a common trend which binds the neighbouring countries India and Pakistan. International one day games and test matches show us that the players of both countries are quite friendly and amicable off the field. It helps to spread the feeling of brotherhood of mutual admiration. It is not unusual to see the players congratulating each other or laughing at a joke. It teaches us to respect each individual for his virtues, regardless of the country political disputes. Thus, these sports meet between different countries show us that the human spirit and regard for humanity is above political issues and tensions. In conclusion, after analysing all the aspects of the statement, it is not hard to see that sports played at international level helps in easing tensions between nations and helps to spread the message of tolerance, peace and brotherhood.