A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, it has been observed that people people evaluation criteria have changed from the past. Given that we live in an age where success is measured by person's job and bank account rather then conjunction used in comparatives than their personalities. Thus, many people believe that values are no longer a valid criteria for person's evaluation while others oppose. In my opinion, I believe that old values such as honour, kindness and trust will always remain the fair way of judging individuals. Firstly, as being famous is the dreams of the era, many people believe that it the key to fulfil this goal is being rich. Therefor, as much as a person's wealth increases as much as they feel valued. Things like owning a house, driving an expensive car or getting into A-list parties are exalted above old-fashioned values. Furthermore, people end up usually being surrounded by those how doesn't truly love them, but only care to benefit from their money. For example, It is known that most of the celebrities don't have a good relationship with their families. However, in some way most of us want to form loving families, raise our children to be good citizens, stand up for the downtrodden and protect our communities from harm. We still form friendships, romances and business partnerships based on old-fashioned criteria. In conclusion, I believe there is some truth to the notion that status and possessions have superseded old-fashioned values as a measure of a person’s worth. Looking beyond the tabloids, it is apparent that most ordinary people have still preserved an old-fashioned conscience. Search Results Web results