An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for the students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Nowadays, books and other printed materials are being substituted by electronic gadgets in educational institutions. Although, tablets and laptops can act as forms of distractions, these are eco-friendly replacements. This essay will delve into how it can be considered a positive development and should be welcomed by everyone. The greatest benefit of using electronic devices has to be the aspect of eco-friendliness. These replace the traditional books which require a lot of paper. Every day, numerous trees are cut down for the production of paper. Though these are recyclable, there has not been a significant decrease in the number Recent studies have indicated that, there has been a decline in the uprooted trees since many schools have adopted different approaches. Hence, many schools prefer tablets over books and printed assignments. However, these techniques come with a few negative aspects too. The most important one is the compatibility of the devices to access content on the internet. Social Media sites are major forms of distractions. Many a times, it is highly likely that students get addicted to Facebook, Instagram and other websites. They procrastinate and fail to submit their assignments before the deadlines. A study conducted in India revealed that most of the students spend a minimum of sixty to eighty minutes on social media and the findings were relative. In spite of this, I still believe that all schools and universities should completely replace books with computers. In conclusion, textbooks are being replaced by laptops in schools and there are students are being benefitted by this change. From where I stand, the advantages outnumber the disadvantages.