Some people believe that television programmes are of no real value for children. How far do you agree or disagree?

Many are of the opinion that television shows have no benefit for the kids. In as much as some of these programs are not age appropriate and also kids can easily be distracted by constantly watching them, if well supervised can contribute positively to the mental growth and moral values of these pupils. Hence, I partially agree with this view. I will discuss my notion extensively in this essay. To begin with, the main advantage of seeing age-appropriate TV programs is the moral lessons they inculcate in viewers. That is, offspring who are in formative ages can easily imbibe the lessons for the audience and viewers. For instance, I watched "Super Story ", a TV show organized by the NTA broadcast station in my country, Nigeria. I acquired a lot of knowledge from a couple of series at such a young age. Such dramas include; "Never Trust Easily" which taught me to trust humans with caution, and "Nichole Study" which taught me effective ways to study and assimilate with no difficulties. Others not mentioned had lots of lessons which can help groom a child morally as well as proffer general life knowledge. However, it is irrefutable that there are possible drawbacks to constantly seeing these movies, especially if not recommended for school-age kids. The main drawback is the distraction for students. To buttress this, offspring can be on television all day and forget the need for other activities. For example, a child on a cartoon from morning until evening and still keen to continue, whilst when cautioned to stop, cries loudly. More often than not, they refuse to take their meals in between, so as not to miss any scene from the show. Such a distracting habit is not encouraging for a growing child. Nevertheless, it can be monitored. In conclusion, TV series have more benefits to growing offspring as they foster their morals and knowledge. If placed under close check, the drawbacks can be effectively curtailed.