The development of tourism contributed English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

English has become the most widely used form of communication in business, markets and in all activities that drive the world wide economy due to the globalization of trade. It is expected by some people that English might become the only language to be spoken globally. This essay will explain the benefits and demerits of having a single language spoken around the world. Humans are tribal animals, as we seek to live with individuals with similarities in ideas and method of communication. In close knit society's language is a powerful glue that enabled harmonious living, but only within the tribe, whereas any outsider, who doesn't know the language is met with distrust. The global trade since 8000 B.C depended on the help of translators to enable transactions of goods and commodities. In the modern era with increase globalisation, there was a need for a common language and English has become the mode of all forms of transactions. In conclusion