The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that the libraries ought to have printed books for the public and money should not be spent to provide electronic gadgets and digital material to the readers. I completely disagree with this school of thought. This essay discusses that libraries must adopt the new technologies in order to help spread knowledge and to survive in a digital age. First of all, the prime purpose of libraries was to provide space and resources for people where they can go and gather the knowledge they need. This goes without saying that technological advancements change the way we learn new things. In other words, most of the latest information is available in digital format, and it is easier to search the specific information in just a few seconds rather than spending long hours reading through the books. For example, nowadays, we can search and read about a particular disease, its symptoms and cure just by searching the relevant words if the book is available in a soft copy. Thus, technology helps us learn new things in less time. Secondly, it is imperative for survival of the traditional libraries to transform into digital libraries. The new generation seems to spend more time with mobile phones and laptops so if the information is available on DVDs it is easy for them to copy the information to their laptops and carry it with them wherever they go. To exemplify, we often observe that people are reluctant to go to the traditional libraries whereas they are more willing to walk in the digital book clubs where they can find information digitally. In conclusion, I believe that in order to serve their main purpose and survive in this new age, libraries must evolve and invest in new technologies. It is predicted that future of libraries lies in the hands of technology and if sufficient efforts are not made, they may lose their standing.