Some people say International Sports events help in world peace. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that international sports events have been successfully used to ease tensions between countries over the past decades, but it is also undeniable that such activities have caused violence and conflicts among people from different backgrounds. Therefore, I can only partly agree with the idea that international sports games are helpful in building a peaceful world. On the one hand, organizing international sports events is an effective means for country leaders to make conciliatory international gestures. A good example of this is China’s ‘ping-pong diplomacy’ in the 1970s, which successfully led to the thaw in Sino-American relations with exchanging table tennis players between the two superpowers. Similarly, inter-Korean relations have been improved as the two countries formed the joint Olympic team in 2018. People’s common interest in sports enables international sporting events to work as a communication bridge that creates solutions for peace. On the other hand, we should not underestimate the negative effects on world peace related to international sports events. Firstly, terrorist groups have been targeting large-scale sporting events over recent years, willing to proving their existence by attacking crowded places. Although hosting countries are strengthening security measures, sports fans and athletes are still facing potential safety risks. Secondly, the violent behaviour of sports fans from different countries might result in tragedies. For example, hundreds of people got injured in the conflict between soccer fans of Liverpool and Juventus in 1985. In conclusion, I partly agree that international sports events are helpful in building world peace because of their bridging effect among nations, however, I also believe that such events may bring safety issues and generate conflicts between people.