Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

These days, crime has become an increasing concern in the society. Most offenders commit felony, even after being punished by the law. This essay will discuss why this trend occurs and put forward several solutions, how to fight this issue. Prisoners feel a sense of resentment. They believe what they have done is justified and the court has falsely accused them for their deed. For instance, a thief believes that, he has only stolen something to feed his family or to live a better life. Although, his intentions weren't wrong, choosing to steal is definitely not the right method. This thinking nurtures the wrong idea. Another factor linked to the first is that, certain people are mentally disturbed and have psychosocial problems. To illustrate this, few criminals cannot differentiate the right from wrong and make bad decisions. This is not something a punishment could rectify. Counselling is the key to this problem. Every jail should have counsellors that can guide the prisoners to live in the righteous way. For example, a counsellor can demonstrate better ways to make a livelihood rather than resorting to theft. This in turn would help the person to work hard and live an honest life. Whereas, others with mental issues can be referred to a psychiatrist. They could receive some sort of therapy to keep themselves in a sane state of mind. In conclusion, criminals often tend to repeat their mistakes even after being penalized. This may be due to lack of guidance during their time in jail or due to mental health issues. Therefore, it is necessary to have an advisor to help with their troubles.