In the modern world, the image (photograph or film) is becoming a more powerful way of communicating than the written word. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that these days pictures are influencing our lives a lot, especially with the smart devices that are equipped with high resolution camera, however, the question: Are images more powerful than words? Is being a controversial issue nowadays.In this essay I am going to examine this phenomenon from both viewpoints, while, I tend to believe that an effective photo has better impact that a full report. On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that we cannot use pictures all the time as it is not a common way of communication and getting in touch with others. Furthermore, not everyone can handle the expensive cameras and also film makers cannot have a full film done totally by photos without words. For instance, pencils and pens are the cheapest tools in order to spread a message because it is affordable by everyone. On the other hand, it is also possible to consider it with the opposing case.It is often argued that in fact photos are more effective than words because they can express feelings and emotions. Moreover, taking pictures and choosing suitable light and location is a skill that can be invested in anyone regardless of the age.One good illustration here is the pictures kept from the second world war.They are considered as a fortune to keep memories alive and this could not be applicable by words.Several photos won prizes either during wars, celebrations or disasters. In conclusion, as we have seen there is no easy answer to this question, however, in my opinion, photos stay alive for a long time more than words, especially in the previous decades.