More and more people are opting for ready-made food instead of freshly cooked food. Do this development has more advantages over disadvantages?

In the past few decades, the trend of consuming processed food has increased significantly. A delicious meal not only provides us a sense of gratification, but also helps in our growth and survival. Some people are more interested in buying ready meals, whereas, others prefer freshly prepared meal. In my essay I will discuss the merits and demerits of eating convenience meal. The predominant advantage of eating ready-made cuisine is that they are highly convenient for the people who do not have time to cook. Moreover, the people who cannot cook feel blessed to have these ready-made meals available in the markets. We can not only consume them as and when we want, but can also store them for the future avail. Additionally, it is easier to carry them as they are properly processed and packaged to increase the ease of consumption. What is more, their nutritional value is also maintained by the manufacturing companies while processing. As far as drawbacks are concerned, prepackaged foods generally contain a high amount of salt and added sugar. Moreover, a lot of chemical preservatives are used in order to keep them fresh and consumable. These foods often contain fat like unsaturated fat and trans fat in order to provide them longer shelf life. As a result, people often develop the risk of having diseases like diabetes, obesity, and high cholesterol etc. To conclude, certainly, the processed foods can be a time-saving and a convenient option for the consumers. Nevertheless, they are still unhealthy. People should not compromise with their health for the sake of their time and comforts. In my view, ready-made meals have both their benefits and drawbacks, but the drawback of being unhealthy outweighs all benefits.