Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be promoted to a higher position. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Promotion from work plays a crucial role in everyone's life. It is a debatable issue that only employee who are already working in a working area for last decade should get promoted to higher positions or other should get a chance to get promoted. However, I disagree with this statement that the only old staff member should be promoted. No doubt, the first of these is that these more experienced employees would be able to adapt themselves to be in a higher position. As they would understand the culture and policies of the company better, they should be given priority to be in higher positions in a company. But the people who have equal knowledge regarding higher position have also right to apply for higher positions and should get a chance to get promoted. Moreover, higher position is a way to work hard regarding getting a chance to get rewarded for higher stand. If everyone gets a chance to promote for higher level job in a company, everyone tries their best to get higher position. For example, it is generally seen in MNC companies, that to increase their position everyone do their best. Apart from this, lower level employees also give their best for getting higher position. Overall, though older person who are already working for a long time in a company should get promoted, but the people who are doing better for getting a higher level in a company should also deserve a promotion.