Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some say that the environment can be improved only by governments and large enterprises and that individuals are useless for this purpose. I agree that the government and large enterprises play a key role to make the environment better than it is now. Large companies have financially strong power to invest their money to help make the environment cleaner. To reduce the emission of pollutants, which are generated during manufacturing various products, a large amount of investment is required to install equipment to remove these pollutants. Further, environmentally friendly raw products, such as trees, generally cost more than raw materials which are cheaper that trees but generally produce more pollutants than trees do. Therefore, large companies can improve the environment by investing more of their money to reduce the emission of pollutants. Governments can contribute to the improvement of the environment by changing laws so that people can live in society in a cleaner and more environmentally friendly way. For example, the government can direct people by law to the use of public transportation rather than their own personal car. By doing so, the emission of noxious gases from cars can be reduced, and then the quality of the atmosphere can get better. Governments also are able to ban dumping sewage from factories in rivers or the ocean by law. Such legislative measures to make the quality of air and water cleaner can be implemented only by governments, not by individual. In conclusion, I believe that governments and large companies can improve the environment by using the ways which are impossible for individuals to implement by anyhow.