The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

News media and publications have made a huge impact on our day to day lives. Some say digital and printed media are shifting our attention more towards information such as tragedies, crisis situations and that this can have a negative impact on citizens. I completely disagree with this argument, as I believe that such incidents must be highlighted to attract attention and for various other reasons. Firstly, headlines on media related to crisis situations can provide consumers a chance to better prepare. In other words, incidents and information such as terrorist attacks or natural disasters yet to happen and even medical emergencies would give the readers an opportunity to prepare in advance for the worse. For instance, the latest medical situation in China is now a worldwide pandemic according to World Health Organisation. Therefore, developing stories such as, presence of the Corona Virus in a particular country, how fast it is spreading and instructions on how we can survive must be given a higher priority than news such as, USA signing a peace deal with the Taliban. Secondly, critics who are in favour of positive stories being in the headlines say that such negative news could trigger a shock or sadness and even make readers emotional. I completely agree with this, however, in my opinion credible news is far better than being misinformed. To put differently, with the technological advancement people are now heavily reliant on the internet, therefore, reading a blog that some stranger has written where it's authenticity is questionable or a neighbour gossiping misinformation to another would be much worse than seeing shocking news on the front page of a newspaper. In conclusion, information related to a crisis or tragedies would provide better public awareness and allow readers to better prepare for pandemics such as the Corona Virus. Although, focusing more on these negative stories on the media would make the readers emotional or sad. It, however, provide credible information than misinformation from reading gossip.