There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays youths are being stressed to intellectually make life formal or informal, therefore, certain individuals have faith that non-formal modules like physical education and cookery must be eliminated from school syllabi to pave the way for educational success. In my own opinion, l tend to disagree with the statement above because there are some merits that come with informal study such as people making money out of skills learned and one can express their natural born talents while academic schooling has also benefits such as more opportunities and reduce levels of illiteracy. On one hand, letting kids focus on academic courses makes them be exposed to job opportunities, in the sense that one can acquire a degree/s and work in a certain field to grasp experience leaving them open to more fortunes. For example, there is a huge demand for nurses worldwide, therefore, people can apply at any department or can be travel nurses. Moreover, formal curriculum reduce illiteracy rates among young scholars, to sum up, decreasing unemployment levels, to illustrate, Zimbabwe has approximately above 80% literacy rate among the youths. On the other hand, people have become wealthy and rich just by choosing to focus on non-academic subjects, such as, chefs and professional trainers. In addition, a person can go for training to perfect their skill thereby, being recognised by an organisation or club and become the centre of attraction in the company, for instance, MS Dhoni the famous sportsman in India whose talent was acknowledged by the cricket inspector during a training session, fast forward to today he is the most paid person in India. Furthermore, there are individuals who are naturally gifted, they can reach their goals without even going to school, for example, Cristiano Ronaldo.