Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

Some people are of the opinion that instead of imprisonment, certain prisoners should be made to do community work without being paid. I strongly believe that this is the right way to treat people who have committed menial crimes. Undoubtedly, people who have committed crimes should be punished in one form or the other. However, imprisonment is not always the answer. Certainly, there are a lot of offences that people should not get away with. But putting people behind bars for a few felonies like: urinating in public places, breaking the traffic rules, littering on the roads and so on, seems a little unnecessary. Dealing with this dilemma in a constructive method would be by making such citizens do unpaid work that helps the society and at the same time would give them the insight on how they can change their behaviour in the future. For instance, if someone was caught littering in a public place, such person should be made to join a cleanliness drive. While doing this job, the offender will realize how easy it is to throw away trash on the road, but how difficult it is to clean up the mess. Thus, killing two birds with one stone. Adding to that, it is easier for someone to spend a night in prison rather than working without being paid for a few days. Nevertheless, it is the job of the people in the authority to take a call on this. To sum up, as times are changing, the number of people who commit crimes is also increasing at an alarming rate. The conventional idea of putting people behind bars is ineffective in a lot of cases. Thus, dealing with such situations in a creative style is the answer to this issue.