Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, many university students decide to exceed their education journey and include some additional courses in their schedule. Although some people believe that they can derive immense value from adjusting knowledge from various disciplines, others are of the opinion that specification on one subject is crucial. In this essay, I will analyze both sides of this argument along with supporting examples. On one hand, there are clearly several benefits of acquiring insights into a diversity of fields. First of all, it undoubtedly guarantees excellent preparation for a job regardless of one's destined specialization, as it allows a person to come across a variety of experiences that can be useful in the future. Secondly, access to different subjects of study can open one's perspectives about the previously planned career, and eventually lead to a completely different, yet more accurate, field. On the other hand, some people argue that students should focus on their main path in order to acquire deep insights into the discipline, and eventually become specialists in that field. According to the latest Harvard University studies on humankind's productivity, having few aspects of work considerably decreases the efficiency of one's effort in each of them, while having one particular subject contributes to a substantially better understanding of it. Thus, there is clear evidence that specialization might be crucial in educating experts in a chosen discipline. To conclude, the debate over whether the additional subjects during one's academic journey are beneficial or not is complex and multifaceted. While the diversity of topics might contribute to wider perspectives, specialization in one field can help with the formation of better experts. Therefore, I believe that students should decide which way of studying is more appropriate for them and which might have a better impact on their future careers.