Many students like to get involved in extra- curricular activities at university such as social clubs and sports. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Universities not only educate students, but offer several opportunities such as exchange programmes and extra-curricular activities as well. While some prefer to take part in such activities, others are not in favour of them as they do not want to focus on anything except for their classes. There is no doubt that the advantages of extra-curricular activities outweigh their disadvantages. On the one hand, extra-curricular activities may pose some disadvantages for university students. Firstly, being involved in extra-curricular activities might consume too much free time of students. As a result, they might have not enough time to study, which is crucial during discipline. Secondly, students may experience some physical difficulties when they participate in such activities. For instance, heavy sport trainings may lead to some health issues. Students who join a sports club may get extremely tired and cannot spare enough time for anything else. This may affect the daily life of students negatively. On the other hand, extra-curricular activities may offer a large number of advantages. Nowadays a great number of universities offer extra-curricular activities for their students to socialize during their education t imespan. When they participate in these activities and events they may feel more confident and self-assured. One of the other advantages of extra-curricular activities is associated with skills development. During extra-curricular activities, students can acquire extra skills, which may help them throughout their life. According to the survey result, which was published in the Times magazine, 80% of employees believe that doing extra-curricular activities during schooling increased their chance to get a high salary job. To conclude, while extra-curricular activities are disadvantageous in terms of time consumption and physical difficulties, they prove to be beneficial for students since they enable students to socialize and gain skills. Universities should encourage their students to participate in these activities to improve motivation during their study.