Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; ‎ during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. ‎ To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?‎

When it comes to festivals, they are considered to play a pivotal role in connecting us with our ‎backgrounds by preserving and promoting national, cultural, and religious identities. It is often argued ‎that people have forgotten the original meaning of festivals, and many treat them as opportunities to ‎have fun. While I partially agree with this assertion, in my opinion, there are still numerous festivals ‎that are meaningful to individuals.‎ On the one hand, enjoyment is the primary goal for some people who celebrate specific festivals. ‎Since people participate in these events to merely have fun, they will be distracted by pleasant ‎moments and forget about the real purposes of these ancient rituals. On top of that, families do not ‎take any steps to transfer these cultural heritages to their descendants. Halloween could be an ideal ‎example here; many children do not know the origin of Halloween symbols like carved pumpkin or ‎trick or treating or even the meaning of its name. ‎ On the other hand, the underlying ideas of many celebrations have not been forgotten yet. That is to ‎say, youngsters still learn about religious or cultural festivals by parents or schools in detail. In other ‎words, the meaning of such ceremonies is so intertwined with the fabric of society that is hard to be ‎decimated over time. To cite an example, Nowruz, the most fabulous Persian celebration, which ‎begins at the exact moment of spring, is well-known, not even by Iranian, but also by other ‎nationalities. ‎ In conclusion, although there are some events that people mainly want to enjoy themselves during ‎them without knowing their value, from my perspective, most of society is still aware of reasons for ‎many festivals. ‎