Nowadays people use social media to keep up with the news. Why do they do this ? Is it a positive or negative trend?

The use of social media has increased over the world today. In recent times, people use social platforms as the main source of information. This essay will discuss the reasons behind the increased usage of social media as a source of happenings over the world and also argue that this trend has its positive and negative side. Many individuals use online platforms as their source of information for many reasons. The first reason is that the world has gone digital; hence, most media companies update their websites and social media platforms as soon as they have a data to disseminate and this makes analog newspapers outdated. As a result, people rather login to these websites and other outlets to get up-to-date data. In addition, due to the increased usage of smartphones, it is cheaper for individuals to keep up with recent happenings rather than buying conventional newspapers. For instance, with a data subscription of 7 euro per month, my phone connects me to the world through online platforms amidst other various things, which is cheaper than purchasing conventional media dailies. There is one main benefit and drawback to the use of online media to follow recent events. The benefits of this trend include wider and faster coverage of the news in question. Unlike conventional media, which can only be accessed through daily papers or television, online media is accessed with a smartphone or a computer and this can be done anywhere. One does not need a newspaper or a television (which are not always present) to do read or listen to the news. However, there are drawbacks to this trend. The main pitfall is that fake news are bound to spread faster, making it quite difficult to curb, after it has been disseminated. Because anyone can create a website solely for the purpose of spreading fake news, it makes it impossible for readers distinguish between authentic reports and fake news. When fake news spread, this can result in panic of the general public. In conclusion, there has been an increase in the use of online applications to follow recent happenings. This essay discussed why people do this and also argued that this development has its positive side as well as its negative side.