Many regions in the world rely on tourism for the revenue it generates. However, some people complain about the problems that come with tourism. What are some of these problems and how can they be solved?

The tourism industry has seen a dramatic rise in last two decades as people are travelling more often than ever before. Many countries, across the globe, depend on this industry as their major source of income to support their economy. But, it is irrefutable that tourism also generates a large number of issues. This essay will discuss those problems and will propose some measures to ameliorate the situation. First and foremost, places with many tourists can lose their original character. For instance, if a local folk visits Italy's city centre on a Sunday afternoon, it is quite likely that he might be the only local inhabitant there. Secondly, many tourists are inconsiderate about the ancient places, therefore, sometimes it can be seen that they litter these places and also damage the buildings by writing something on them or plucking flowers from the gardens. For example, Mount Everest stopped the expedition in 2019 owing to the previous batch who littered that area. To fix these problems, firstly, the government should limit the number of tourists entering a particular place. This will reduce the pressure of maintaining so many tourists together, and such places could be looked after in a better and systematic manner. Additionally, CCTV cameras should be installed at each nook and corner of these places so that everyone activities could be monitored and the culprits can be caught easily. We can look into the example of the Taj Mahal monument in Agra where everyone is under the CCTV surveillance, all the time, which has reduced the number of such issues. In conclusion, while tourism generates problems such as loosing the originality and littering of the places, these issues are not insurmountable. These things can be solved if the government follows the above stated solutions.