Some people think success in life comes from hard work and determination. Others think money and appearance are more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is true that people have a lot of ways to achieve success. However, some people question whether internal perseverance or external factors like money and appearance contribute more in getting ahead. My view is that people could reach the peak of their career when they work hard and have determination. Thomas Edison once said, “Genius is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent perspiration.” This means that even the talented people need to endeavour to gain the fruit of triumph, let alone the normal ones. So, it is essential for individuals to insist on defeating difficulties to be successful. Moreover, determination is the root of motivation to step over obstacles. For example, the Oscar-winning director Ann Lee, who has cost decades to perfect his script and pursue his film dream. If he had no such strong will on making good movies, there would not have such thought-provoking films like Brokeback Mountain and Life of Pi. This is not to say that money and appearance are not necessary. Of course a good economic foundation may shorten the way to victory and a good looking may attract more attention in society. But without inner effort and insistence, these fast-consuming contributors from outside would not last long, as a result, people who simply rely on them would get lost along the way to their goal. In sum, it is more significant for us to make great efforts and have strong will power to chase the gold medal in our life. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the function of money and appearance. By doing so we can make sure that we will overcome hardships in our life.