In recent years some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the countryside. This situation may bring some problems for the country as a whole. What are these problems? How might they be reduced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the last decade, many countries have undergone development in its economic sector. However, this often takes place in only some parts of the country, usually the cities, leaving the rural areas lagging behind, resulting in an increase in the standard of living in cities compared to the towns and villages. This essay will discuss some problems associated with this and will also suggest solutions that might lessen the situation. Problems associated with selected cities having a high living standard compared to others are obvious and numerous. However, only two main problems will be discussed here today. First, people tend to migrate to places with high living standard because this is directly proportional to better infrastructures, better opportunities, effective and efficient transportation as well as high skill demand. Often, people will leave their villages to the cities for these reasons, leaving the villages deserted and cities are, in turn, being over-populated, over congested and over polluted. Second, when people migrate in search of better opportunities, they pay taxes to their new city of residence. As a result, the villages with reduced living standard are unable to generate internal proceeds. Thus, the problems associated with selected higher living standard in a country are an insufficient generation of internal proceeds in the villages and over population in the cities. There are ways this issue can be alleviated. To start with, the authorities should issue a policy that every individual must reside in his/her state of origin. Because of this, skilled workers are forced to migrate back and companies will be forced to establish branches in villages because these skills are no more concentrated in a particular region. In addition, the authorities should also enforce all states to uniformly distribute their generated revenues so that no state will be indigent. For instance, a government policy was passed two decades ago, in Australia when faced with a similar situation. A survey was taken recently and this shows that the standard of living was uniform across the states within the country. In conclusion, the economy of many countries has developed in the past years. Yet, often times, only the cities have experienced a high living standard leading to numerous problems in the nation. This write-up discussed these problems, which include lower internal revenue and increased population. Furthermore, this write-up suggested two solutions that can mitigate these problems, which are government policies with regard to immigration and equal distribution of revenue amongst regions.